NTC: Leaders established at Tracknado, U.S. Sprint GP


(June 8, 2016) – The first 2016 National Track Calendar (NTC) events yielded early sprint and endurance standings leaders, as Tracknado and the U.S. Sprint Grand Prix opened the season May 28 in Frisco, Texas, and June 3 in Trexlertown, Pa., respectively.
The 2015 NTC wrapped up with the Golden Wheel Race/Champions of Sprint and Keirin Revenge in Trexlertown, Pa.
Trexlertown, Pa., played host to the June 3 U.S. Sprint Grand Prix.

Joe Christiansen (Lyons, Colo.) and Monique Sullivan (CAN) opened the season atop the men’s and women’s sprint standings. Christiansen leads the men’s ranks with 30 points after keirin and sprint wins at Tracknado, while Sullivan leads the women with 15 points thanks to her sprint win in Frisco.
Zachary Kovalcik (Portland, Ore./Black Lodge Cycling) leads the men’s endurance standings with 40 points following individual pursuit and scratch race wins at Tracknado, which he followed with scratch bronze at the U.S. Sprint Grand Prix the following week. Kate Wilson (Los Angeles, Calif./CPT-CCF Racing Team) tops the women’s endurance group with 42 points after three podium finishes at Tracknado that included points race and scratch race wins, and a second-place individual pursuit run.
Full Tracknado results.
Full U.S. Sprint Grand Prix results.
2016 NTC Standings:
Men’s Sprint
1. Joe Christiansen (Lyons, Colo.) 30
2. Nick Oestreich (Powder Springs, Ga./Junior Flyers) 22
3. Kieran Leahy (IRL) 18
4. Zachary Kovalcik (Portland, Ore./Black Lodge Cycling) 15
4. Jair Tjon En Fa (Hialeah, Fla.) 15
Women’s Sprint
1. Monique Sullivan (CAN) 15
2. Mandy Marquardt (Allentown, Pa./Team Novo Nordisk) 12
3. Holly Takos (AUS) 10
4. Kate O’Brien (CAN) 8
5. Madalyn Godby (Louisville, Colo.) 6
Men’s Endurance
1. Zachary Kovalcik (Portland, Ore./Black Lodge Cycling) 40
2. John Croom (Rock Hill, S.C./Mars Hill Cycling) 22
3. Luke Mudgway (NZL) 15
3. Brad Tyra (Colorado Springs, Colo./International Dyslexia Association-Out of the Box Performance) 15
5. Dean Haas (Lakewood, Colo./Prestige Imports-Porsche-Audi Race Team) 14
Women’s Endurance
1. Kate Wilson (Los Angeles, Calif./CPT-CCF Racing Team) 42
2. Catherine Moore (Denton, Texas) 39
3. Helen Baillie-Strong (Plano, Texas/Sun and Ski Women’s Elite) 28
4. Ashley Duban (Austin, Texas/RCM Hit Squad p/b CRUSH Fitness) 18
5. Missy Erickson (Mertztown, Pa./BIG Picture Cycling) 15
The NTC returns to Trexlertown for the June 10 Fastest Man on Wheels.

This Article Updated June 14, 2016 @ 04:59 PM For more information contact: