JHK, Irmiger successfully defend Marathon MTB National titles


Breckenridge, Colo. (July 4, 2010) — Hundreds of ultra-endurance mountain bikers converged on Breckenridge, Colo. for the Fourth of July to compete for 14 national titles at the USA Cycling Marathon Mountain Bike National Championships held in conjunction with the 10th annual Firecracker 50.

Husband and wife duo Jeremy Horgan-Kobelski (Boulder, Colo./Subaru-Trek) and Heather Irmiger (Boulder, Colo./Subaru-Trek) successfully defended their titles from 2009 as the first riders in the pro/open categories to cross the line after 50 miles on the grueling course.

Two-time U.S. Olympian Horgan-Kobelski completed his two laps of the dusty 25-mile loop in three hours and 36 minutes, compared to the three hours and 42 minutes posted by his teammate and USA Cycling National Development Program graduate, Sam Schultz (Missoula, Mont./Subaru-Trek) who grabbed the silver medal. Dave Wiens (Gunnison, Colo./Topeak Ergo) collected the bronze medal while Jeremiah Bishop (Harrisonburg, Va./Cannondale) and Burke Swindlehurst (Salt Lake City, Utah) rounded out the podium in fourth and fifth.

Irmiger had a gap of two minutes in the first lap, besting a stacked women’s field in a time of four hours and 16 minutes while 22-year-old Amy Dombroski (Boulder, Colo./Luna) had a stellar ride for second-place in four hours and 23 minutes.  Krista Park (Madison, Wis./Cannondale) rode to the bronze medal while Gretchen Reeves (Avon, Colo.) and Kelly Boniface (Steamboat Springs, Colo./Moots Cycles) claimed the podium’s fourth and fifth spots.

In addition to the pro/open contests that were contested, 12 other categories duked it out on the rocky course for Stars-and-Stripes jerseys, including the men’s and women’s single speed fields which were new championship categories for 2010. Complete results from the event will be posted here.

In the men’s 19-29 category, Stevie Cullinan (Paradise Valley, Calif.) bested Peter Calms (Steamboat Springs, Colo./Honey Stinger) for the national title while Ben Aufderheide (Wilson) collected the gold medal in the men’s 30-34 group ahead of Paul Gorbold (Avon, Colo.). The men’s 35-39 contest saw Will White (Scottsdale, Ariz.) beat out Michael Schoenly (Fort Collins, Colo.) by less than 2 minutes while Peter Webber (Boulder, Colo.) won the 40-49 national championship ahead of silver medalist Michael Hogan (Louisville, Colo./Justin-Titus).Robert Stanley (Longmont, Colo./Echelon Spokes) was victorious among men 50-59 while Mark Gouge (Colorado Springs, Colo.) collected the silver medal. In the men’s 60+ field, Dwight Hibdon (Park City, Utah) rode his way to the top of the podium ahead of silver medalist Glenn Town (Santa Barbara, Calif.)

Brenda Moczygemba (Breckenridge, Colo./Tough Girl) grabbed a Stars-and-Stripes jersey as the sole rider in the women’s 19-29 field. WMBA teammates Kennon Roeber (Colorado Springs, Colo.), Kim Baugh (Colorado Springs, Colo.), and Tracy Hankinson (Colorado Springs, Colo.) swept the podium in the women’s 30-39 contest. Anne Gonzales (Aspen, Colo.) was the top rider among women 40-49 while Sheri Boltz (Morrison, Colo./Justin’s-Titus) won the silver medal. In the women’s 50+ group, Amy Harris (Steamboat Springs, Colo.) bested Ellen Guthrie (Salt Lake City, Utah/Spin Cycle) for the top honors.

Pro/Open Men

1. Jeremy Horgan-Kobelski (Boulder, Colo./Subaru-Trek)
2. Sam Schultz (Missoula, Mont./Subaru-Trek)
3. Dave Wiens (Gunnison, Colo./Topeak Ergo)
4. Jeremiah Bishop (Harrisonburg, Va./Cannondale)
5. Burke Swindlehurst (Salt Lake City, Utah)

Pro/Open Women

1. Heather Irmiger (Boulder, Colo./Subaru-Trek)
2. Amy Dombroski (Boulder, Colo./Luna)
3. Krista Park (Madison, Wis./Cannondale)
4. Gretchen Reeves (Avon, Colo.)
5. Kelly Boniface (Steamboat Springs, Colo./Moots Cycles)

Men 19-29

1. Stevie Cullinan (Paradise Valley)
2. Peter Kalmes (Steamboat Springs, Colo./Honey Stinger)
3. Jonathan Schottler (Columbia)

Men 30-34

1. Ben Aufderheide (Wilson)
2. Paul Gorbold (Avon, Colo.)
3. Michael Scott (Denver, Colo./Team Evergreen Racing)

Men 35-39

1. Will White (Scottsdale, Ariz.)
2. Michael Schoenly (Fort Collins, Colo.)
3. Aaron Small (Morrison, Colo.)

Men 40-49

1. Peter Webber (Boulder, Colo.)
2. Michael Hogan (Louisville, Colo./Justins-Titus)
3. Frank Gonzalez (Helena, Mont.)

Men 50-59

1. Robert Stanley (Longmont, Colo./Echelon Spokes)
2. Mark Gouge (Colorado Springs, Colo.)
3. Mark Hershberger (Fitgeralds Bikes)

Men 60+

1. Dwight Hibdon (Park City, Utah)
2. Glenn Town (Santa Barbara, Calif.)
3. Steve Becker (Prescott)

Men Singlespeed

1. Cameron Brenneman (Santa Fe, NM/Bike'n'Sport)
2. Dax Massey (Denver, Colo.)
3. Mark Thompson (Breckenridge, Colo./Wilderness Sports)

Women 19-29

1. Brenda Moczygemba (Breckenridge, Colo./Tough Girl)

Women 30-39

1. Kennon Roeber (Colorado Springs, Colo./WMBA)
2. Kim Baugh (Colorado Springs, Colo./WMBA)
3. Tracy Hankinson (Colorado Springs, Colo./WMBA)

Women 40-49

1. Anne Gonzales (Aspen, Colo.)
2. Sheri Boltz (Morrison, Colo./Justin's-Titus)
3. Coreen Wright (Evergreen, Colo./Justin's-Titus)

Women 50+

1. Amy Harris (Steamboat Springs, Colo.)
2. Ellen Guthrie (Salt Lake City, Utah/Spin Cycle Racing)
3. Sharon McDowell-Larsen (Colorado Springs, Colo.)

Women Singlespeed

1. Amy Hermes (Edwards)
2. Hillary Hienton (Colorado Springs, Colo.)
3. Andrea Wilson (Marx and Bensdorf)

Photos: Jeremy Horgan Kobelsi (top) and HEather Irmiger (bottom) defended their titles in the pro categories. Photos by Liam Doran

This Article Published July 4, 2010 For more information contact: