Marian & Whitman earn team omnium titles as Collegiate Nats close

Madison, Wis.(May 9, 2010) – Marian University swept the Division I team time trial on the final day of competition at the USA Cycling Collegiate Road National Championships, and took the team omnium title home to Indianapolis. Whitman College used a victory in the DII women’s team trial and a third-place finish in the men’s event to seal their DII team omnium national title. The Mesa State College men’s squad won the Stars-and-Stripes in the men’s team time trial and finished just short of the team omnium title.
Traditional track cycling powerhouse Marian leapfrogged the powerful Lees-McRae College squad in the final of three events factored into the team omnium competition to earn the road team omnium competition. Whitman used a balanced attack through the three-day contest to defend their team title from a surging Mesa State College team and last year’s runner-up, the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.
The final day of competition of the USA Cycling Collegiate Road National Championships saw teams of three to four riders take off from the Trek Bicycles World Headquarters. The DII women kicked off the action in Waterloo, Wisc., tackling the 19.2-mile out-and-back course on a crisp, sunny Mother’s Day. Whitman College defended their DII women’s TTT title, edging MIT’s women’s squad by 26 seconds. Dartmouth College posted a time of 45:51.95 to grab third.
The DI women were next off the line, in reverse order of team omnium standings. Marian’s women posted a time better than many of the men’s squads, 42:25.44, earning the title by only around 10 seconds ahead of the powerful Lees-McRae squad. The University of California-Davis finished around 30 seconds later to earn third.
Mesa State’s men’s squad posted a time of 38:15.10 to win the DII TTT by more than 20 seconds ahead of Western Washington University. Whitman College’s men put down a 38:43.42, enough to grab third and lock in the team omnium title.
Marian University’s men clocked the fastest time of the day at 36:23.44. Last year’s champion, the University of California-Davis settled for second in 2010 at 36:53.50 as Fort Lewis College grabbed third.   
“We brought almost and entirely new squad this year,” said Adam Switters of UC-Davis. “Despite some bad luck we finished well. Marian really stepped up their game this year.”  
With both individual events completed on Saturday the individual omnium national titles were awarded at the USA Cycling Collegiate Road National Championships banquet at the Monona Terrace on Saturday night. Robert Bush (Indianapolis, Ind.) of Marian College and road race champion Carla Swart (Banner Elk, N.C./Lees-McRae College) took away national titles in the Division I individual omnium, or best all-around rider, category. Arielle Filliberti (Worcester, Mass./Dartmouth) and Richard Geng (Grand Junction, Colo./Mesa State) took home that honor for Division II. For complete individual omnium results, click here. The top women's omnium finishers will once again be invited to be a part of the Fiber One Collegiate All-Stars, a composite squad who will compete on the National Racing Calendar's Nature Valley Grand Prix in June. In all 18 Stars-and-Stripes were awarded at the 2010 USA Cycling Collegiate Road National Championships in Madison, Wisconsin this weekend.
* Tweet and follow the event on Twitter using the hashtag #colnats.
2010 USA Cycling Collegiate Road National Championships
May 7-9
Madison, Wisconsin
For complete results, click here. To view complete DI omnium results, click here and here for DII.
To view photos from the event, visit the USA Cycling photo gallery and to watch videos of the event visit USA Cycling’s YouTube page.  
Division I Men’s Team Time Trial
1. Marian University 36:23.44
2. University of California-Davis 36:58.50
3. Fort Lewis College 37:32.58
4. Lees-McRae College 37:52.80
5. Colorado State University 38:11.86
DI Women’s Team Time Trial
1. Marian University 42:25.44
2. Lees-McRae College 42:35.30
3. University of California-Davis 43:01.57
4. University of California-Boulder 44:25.18
5. University of Arizona 44:36.73
DII Men’s Team Time Trial
1. Mesa State College 38:15.10
2. Western Washington University 38:38.34
3. Whitman College 38:43.42
4. Duke University 38:46.40
5. Massachusetts Institute of Technology 39:55.13
DII Women’s Team Time Trial
1. Whitman College 45:26.73
2. Massachusetts Institute of Technology 45:51.60
3. Dartmouth College 45:51.95
4. Yale University 48:16.08
5. Mesa State College 49:08.58
DI Team Omnium Results
1. Marian University 459
2. Lees-McRae College 428
3. University of California-Davis 362
4. Fort Lewis College 342
5. Midwestern State University 302
DII Team Omnium Results
1. Whitman College 455
2. Mesa State 429
3. Massachusetts Institute of Technology 332
4. Dartmouth College 326
5. Western Washington University 308
For complete Individual Omnium results,click here.
 Photo caption: The Marian College men's squad poses after the finish.
 Photos courtesy: David Stluka Photography/  
About Collegiate Cycling
Recognized by the United States Olympic Committee and the Union Cycliste Internationale, USA Cycling is the official governing body for all disciplines of competitive cycling in the United States, including road, track, mountain bike, BMX, and cyclo-cross. With over 4,500 student athletes and 300 collegiate clubs and teams, Collegiate Cycling is the division of USA Cycling responsible for administering competitive bicycle racing in 11 unique collegiate conferences. Collegiate Cycling also oversees all four USA Cycling Collegiate National Championships: Track, Mountain Bike, Cyclo-cross, and Road, and recognizes collegiate club and athlete achievements with the Stenner and Kuck scholarships. To learn more about USA Cycling-Collegiate, visit
About USA Cycling   
Recognized by the United States Olympic Committee and the Union Cycliste Internationale, USA Cycling is the official governing body for all disciplines of competitive cycling in the United States, including road, track, mountain bike, BMX and cyclo-cross. As a membership-based organization, USA Cycling comprises 66,500+ licensees; 2,200 clubs and teams; and 34 local associations. The national governing body sanctions 2,650 competitive and non-competitive events throughout the U.S. each year and is responsible for the identification, development, and support of American cyclists. To learn more about USA Cycling, visit

This Article Published May 9, 2010 For more information contact: