Lea takes men's omnium bronze at World Cup


(Dec. 7, 2014) – Bobby Lea (Mertztown, Pa./Custom Velo) put the finishing touches on a bronze medal omnium campaign at the 2014-15 UCI Track Cycling World Cup in London on Sunday, earning third in the 1km time trial, seventh in the flying lap and 13th in the points race.

Bobby Lea leads the men's omnium standings after two legs.
Bobby Lea leads the men's World Cup omnium standings after two legs. (photo by Guy Swarbrick)
Lea, who stood third at the midway point of the omnium after Saturday’s action, started the day with a third-place finish in the 1km time trial in 1:04.084, followed by a seventh-place flying lap in 13.473 seconds and an eight-point 13th-place effort in the points race.
Colombia’s Fernando Gaviria Rendon won omnium gold with 197 points, Australian Scott Law earned silver with 171 points and Lea took bronze with 164 points.
Lea leads the men’s omnium World Cup rankings after two legs with 240 points, followed by Casper Phillip Pedersen of Denmark with 179 points and Rendon with 150 points.
Jennifer Valente (San Diego, Calif./TWENTY16 Pro Cycling) climbed the women’s omnium ranks throughout the day, ascending from a 10th-place standing after the first three events to sixth in the final standings thanks to two top-four event finishes Sunday. Valente’s 36.065-second run in the 500m time trial was good enough for fourth, which she followed with a third-place flying lap in 14.423 seconds. Valente finished the day with a 14th-place result in the points race, where she scored three points.
Laura Trott of Great Britain amassed 193 points to win the women’s omnium, followed by Jolien D’Hoore of Belgium with 181 points and Kirsten Wild of the Netherlands with 167 for bronze. Valente finished sixth with 136 points.
D’Hoore leads the women’s omnium World Cup standings with 285 points, Marlies Mejias Garcia of Cuba stands second with 240 and Wild is third with 225 points. Valente is tied for 12th with Sarah Hammer (Colorado Springs, Colo./Performance United-FELT) with 98 points.
Missy Erickson (San Pedro, Calif./Momentum Coaching Group p/b Atomic) took fourth in the women’s keirin first round, finishing 1.132 seconds off lead. She then placed fourth in repechage round just 0.250 seconds off of the lead to finish 25th overall. China’s Shuang Guo notched the victory, pacing German Kristina Vogel by 0.082 seconds and Korean Hyejin Lee by 0.093 seconds.
Matt Baranoski (Perkasie, Pa./Custom Velo) finished 40th in the men’s sprint qualifier with a time of 10.804 seconds. Dutch rider Jeffrey Hoogland took the win, followed by Fabian Hernando Puerto Zapata of Colombia and Hersony Canelon of Venezuela.
The final 2014-15 UCI Track Cycling World Cup event runs Jan. 16-18 in Cali, Colombia.
For more, check out USA Cycling's photo gallery and click here for complete results.
Men’s omnium overall
1. Fernando Gaviria Rendon (COL) – 197 points
2. Scott Law (AUS) – 171 points
3. Bobby Lea – 164 points
Men’s omnium 1km time trail
1. Scott Law (AUS) – 1:03.513
2. Fernando Gaviria Rendon (COL) – 1:03.583
3. Bobby Lea – 1:04.084
Men’s omnium flying lap
1. Scott Law (AUS) – 13.186 seconds
2. Fernando Gaviria Rendon (COL) – 13.288 seconds
3. Tim Veldt (NED) – 13.325 seconds
7. Bobby Lea – 13.473 seconds
Men’s omnium points race
1. Victor Manakov (RUS) – 38 points
2. Aaron Gate (NZL) – 33 points
3. King Lok Cheung (HKG) – 31 points
13. Bobby Lea – 8 points
Women’s omnium overall
1. Laura Trott (GBR) – 193 points
2. Jolien D’Hoore (BEL) – 181 points
3. Kirsten Wild (NED) – 167 points
6. Jennifer Valente – 136 points
Women’s omnium 500m time trail
1. Jolien D’Hoore (BEL) – 35.595 seconds
2. Marlies Mejias Garcia (CUB) – 35.747 seconds
3. Laura Trott (GBR) – 35.918 seconds
4. Jennifer Valente – 36.065
Women’s omnium flying lap
1. Jolien D’Hoore (BEL) – 14.364 seconds
2. Kirsten Wild (NED) – 14.377 seconds
3. Jennifer Valente – 14.423 seconds
Women’s omnium points race
1. Sofia Arreola Navarro (MEX) – 29 points
2. Jupha Somnet (MAS) – 24 points
3. Caroline Ryan (IRL) – 23 points
14. Jennifer Valente – 3 points
Men’s sprint
1. Jeffrey Hoogland (NED)
2. Fabian Hernando Puerto Zapata (COL)
3. Hersony Canelon (VEN)
40. Matt Baranoski
Women’s keirin
1. Shuang Guo (MSP)
2. Kristina Vogel (GER) +0.082 seconds
3. Hyejin Lee (KOR) +0.093 seconds
25. Missy Erickson

Related Articles

This Article Updated December 8, 2014 @ 05:28 AM For more information contact: